About The League

Sunday 22nd March 2015

 

THE LEAGUE – HISTORY AND TODATE.

 The League was founded in 1946 at a meeting at the Lion Hotel, Steeple Bumpstead. Records show that a dance had been held in April of that year which had raised six pounds twelve shillings and each of the six founding teams had paid ten shillings and sixpence as a joining fee to launch the League on a sound financial footing. The founders were two teams from Haverhill Town, two from Steeple Bumpstead, together with Castle Camps and Stoke-by-Clare.

 Today the League comprises 26 teams in three divisions from 15 clubs and serves an area which includes north west Essex, east Suffolk and south east Cambridgeshire and stretches from Clavering and Quendon in the west to Sudbury in the east. League matches of mixed triples are played on Friday evenings with Cup matches on Mondays. The Walter Smith Cup is an open competition for all teams, while each division has its own knock out cup.

 The League also runs singles, pairs, triples and mixed pairs open competitions throughout the season with a Finals Day on the first Saturday in September and a Champs versus The Rest game on the following Saturday to conclude the season and present the trophies.

 One of the reasons for the popularity of the League in the area that it serves is that it offers mixed bowling. In our experience lady bowlers welcome the opportunity to match their skills against the gentlemen and demonstrate not only their equality but also, at times, their superiority.

 The League’s aim is to flourish on a mixture of good company and wholehearted competition.

 In 2016 the League will be celebrating its 70th. Anniversary with a Triples Competition open to all players in the League and played at Haverhill Town Bowls Club on Sunday 14th August 2016 to raise funds for the League this was a great success and played in superb spirit by all teams trhat supported the day.